Quantcast

When I think about grandparents, my immediate line of thought is that our kids don't spend enough time with theirs - particularly my own parents. The barrier for us is distance, but for some families there's other things at play, language being one example. In the new book, Drawn Together, author Minh Lê and Caldecott-winning illustrator Dan Santat join forces to tell a heartwarming story of a grandfather and his grandson as they learn to overcome their language barrier through a shared love of art and storytelling. In the spirit of inspiring others, Disney-Hyperion and The Rock Father™ have teamed-up to offer you a chance to win a hardcover copy of Drawn Together along with a Melissa & Doug Standing Easel. Check out a preview of the book below...

It was on April 18, 1938 that the world first discovered the exploits of Superman - the iconic creation of Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster first hitting the public eye on the cover of ACTION COMICS #1 (cover dated June). Some four decades later, the "last son of Krypton" would come to life on the big screen with the release of 1978's Superman: The Movie, fueling kicking off another generation of heroics that caught the eye of many - myself among them. While my childhood was filled with superheroes, it was Superman that really grabbed me and pulled me into the medium where it all began - comics. Specifically, it was John Byrne's 1986 mini-series, The Man of Steel that did it (a series I've since shared with my daughters), and for the Christmas of 1987 I asked for one thing: the collected trade paperback edition, which I received and still have. Byrne's run on Superman introduced me to the countless spinoffs and made me a regular reader of Action Comics during an era where you had to buy three books (Superman, Action Comics, Adventures of Superman) to follow a complete story arc. From there I discovered the back issue bins, eventually delving into the five decades of storytelling that came before. Fast-forward another three decades and Superman is turning 80 - and as part of that celebration, Action Comics becomes the first superhero title to reach an incredible milestone - the publication of its 1000th issue. 

Ready for some books that rock? powerHouse Books has announced a new, ongoing collaboration with SIMMONS BOOKS, the imprint from KISS' Gene Simmons. The first title will arrive this August, and it's one that I'm very interested in. 27:THE LEGEND AND MYTHOLOGY OF THE 27 CLUB is the inaugural release of the new series, and it features Simmons "no-BS take on the myth, and the actual people, that make up the “27 club”—the ground-breaking musicians, artists, and celebrities who died at the age of twenty-seven, frozen in the collective consciousness at the zenith of their creative output." Being so involved in music myself at a young age, I always wondered if I would make it past 27 - if only because the number became so haunting. While I made it, one of my friends became a member of the 27 club, though I don't know if he'll be mentioned in the book.

Last year, audiences embraced WONDER, the cinematic adaptation of author R.J. Palacio's #1 New York Times best-selling book. Starring Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson and Jacob Tremblay, the story of 10-year old Auggie Pullman was brought to life on screen - the inspirational journey of a child faced with a host of challenges as he makes the jump from homeschool to middle school, fighting to fit-in as a child with Treacher Collins Syndrome. At the heart of the story is a message of kindness that's been resonating with readers since 2012, and thanks to the success of the film, Random House Children’s Books has been continuing the movement to inspire families, educators and young readers nationwide to #ChooseKind as they seek to foster a culture of inclusion, where bullying no longer exists.

March marks Women's History Month, and this year there's a new book on-sale that's a fitting celebration... Franny's Father is a Feminist. Written by Rhonda Leet with illustrations by Megan Walker, this new title from POW! Kids spins a familiar father-daughter tale that looks to hit home here as I raise both of my daughters in much the same manner as Franny's father. Check out a preview...

Halloween ComicFest 2017 will take place on Saturday, October 28, and this year's event looks to be a great one! Following in the tradition of Free Comic Book Day (every May), local comic shops will open their doors to welcome guests with a new selection of 30 titles representing something for the whole family. Of the 30 titles overall, 18 are Full Size and 12 are Mini Comics. All will be available for free on Saturday, October 28th and the Mini Comics will be available for purchase in packs of 25 for $4.99 - perfect to give to trick-or-treaters on Halloween. To find a participating store near you, check out the locator on the official HCF site, and be sure to check out the full rundown of books below!

Life of Agony bassist Alan Robert has been rocking the comics world over the past few years, working as the horror illustrator & writer behind several award-winning titles through IDW Publishing (Crawl to Me, Killogy, Wire Hangers, The Shunned One). His breakout title, however, was actually a grownup coloring book - 2016's The Beauty of Horror: A GOREgeous Coloring Book. The crew over at Nerdist hailed it as being "The World's Creepiest Adult Coloring Book" and it was IDW's #2 top-selling book last year. Now, Alan is back for seconds, giving his book what all great horror tales command... a sequel. For Halloween 2017, The Beauty of Horror 2: Ghouliana's Creepatorium - Another GOREgeous Coloring Book has hit the streets, and today it takes its place in our annual 31 Days of Halloween Countdown. Check out a preview...

From Scholastic and author Laura Terry comes GRAVEYARD SHAKES, a new graphic novel that's hit bookshelves just in-time for Halloween! Light and spooky with a style that should play well for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Neil Gaiman, Graveyard Shakes makes an appearance here in 31 Days of Halloween with a special 6-page preview below. Check it out!

The Rock Father™ and Scholastic have teamed-up to celebrate the launch of an all-new book series for young readers - HILDE CRACKS THE CASE. The first book, Hero Dog! (Hilde Cracks the Case #1) just hit bookstores, introducing readers to the adventures of real-life ten-year-old crime reporter Hilde Lysiak. Each book in the series is inspired by news stories that Hilde wrote in real-life, and they're presented here particularly geared toward readers 5-8. As part of the launch, we're giving readers of THE ROCK FATHER™ Magazine a shot at winning a Hero Dog! Prize Pack featuring the new book plus a Vtech Kidizoom Smartwatch!

Grammy-winning country icon, best-selling author, actress, and in-demand speaker, Naomi Judd is set to release the paperback version of her new book, “River of Time: My Descent Into Depression and How I Emerged With Hope” on Dec. 5. Judd will be promoting the paperback release with multiple television, radio and online interviews, including an appearance on the TODAY Show Dec. 5.

Friday, August 18 2017 10:35

Wizard Magazine is Attempting a Comeback...

Written by

They say that “Nothing stays dead in comics,” and that's exactly how the folks at Wizard World led off the announcement that they're getting back into the editorial fold with a "digital re-imagination, re-conception and re-launch of Wizard, as part of a new digital initiative which includes WizPop, a daily pop-culture news service reporting on the biggest stories of the day in pop-culture, entertainment, and fandom." Set to officially relaunch at Wizard World Comic Con Chicago (August 24-27, 2017), they say that "plans are in the works to return to publishing Wizard as a premium quarterly magazine." Magazines are a hard thing to relaunch in either print or digital, and that's something I have a little experience with myself.

Adolescence is always such an awkward time, and for years, American Girl has been helping girls and their parents to navigate those choppy waters. Now, American Girl is reaching out to boys and their parents, offering  advice in a new book, Guy Stuff: The Body Book for BoysWritten by Dr. Cara Natterson, board-certified pediatrician and author of American Girl's famous The Care and Keeping of YouThe Body Book for Girls series, this new book is geared toward boys ages 8+, and aims to help them prepare for body changes in the years ahead. This new book covers everything from hair care to healthy eating, bad breath to shaving, acne to voice cracking, pubic changes to moodiness, peer pressure to bullying, and more.

Page 1 of 7