This article is more than 9 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

It’s always a special thrill when one of my favorite artists announces a new record – and that news arrives in my inbox completely unexpected. Such is the case with BRIAN SETZER, one of the greatest living guitarists, and one of my top ten favorite artists of all-time. On August 12, Surfdog Records will release ROCKABILLY RIOT: ALL ORIGINAL, a brand-new collection of straight-up rockabilly tunes from Setzer, who’s backed by Mark Winchester (bass), Kevin McKendree (piano) and Noah Levy (drums). Recorded in Nashville, the album was produced by Peter Collins (who previously worked on Setzer’s VAVOOM! and THE DIRTY BOOGIE).

“I think this album sounds to me a little bit like the first STRAY CATS record…its rockabilly songs. It’s not just blues songs in the rockabilly style. People like to call it ‘neo-billy’ I suppose, which is some invented word that somebody came up with, but if that’s the word they want to use, I’d like to go with that because it sounds to me like it’s very modern and fresh sounding rockabilly.”Brian Setzer
Album Artbs
  1. Let’s Shake
  2. Rockabilly Blues
  3. Vinyl Records
  4. Lemme Slide
  5. Nothing Is A Sure Thing
  6. What’s Her Name
  7. Calamity Jane
  8. The Girl With The Blues In Her Eyes
  9. Stiletto Cool
  10. I Should Have Had A V8
  11. Blue Lights Big City
  12. Cock-a-Doodle Don’t
Stay tuned for more BRIAN SETZER news as I have it…
Previous articleBATMAN v SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE starts filming in Detroit…
Next articleIt’s #MaeWeek, and MAE is celebrating the 10th Anniversary of DESTINATION: BEAUTIFUL…