This article is more than 12 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

UWA SOUNDTRACK lrgAs a big fan of Vampires and Werewolves, I’ve long held the UNDERWORLD films as franchise that serves as a hearty slap in the face to fans of both. In fact, I hated the first one so much, that it partially inspired me to write DEATH WALKS THE STREETS in 2004. From all angles, I thought that both UNDERWORLD and it’s sequel, UNDERWORLD: EVOLUTION, were poorly-directed by Len Wiseman and poorly conceived by writer Kevin Grevioux. I even hated the icy ”blue” look of the films. By the time 2009’s UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS came around, I’d already tuned out. Now, with the 2012 UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING, the franchise is back on my radar – but only for the one thing I’d actually like about it: The Soundtracks.

Indeed, despite my distaste for the films, I actually own the soundtracks for all four. Like many things “sequelized,” they’ve gotten progressively worse since the first, but they’re still decent.

Released digitally this week via Lakeshore Records, just ahead of the January 20th theatrical bow for the film (a physical release is planned for January 31), UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING – ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK is a solid collection of new and remixed tracks that should pique the interest of soundtrack collectors and rock aficionados alike. I say “rock,” because these songs have rock at their core, despite the layers of electronics on top. 

Sponsor Message:

Longtime franchise remixer Danny Lohner (ex-NINE INCH NAILS) returns under the moniker of Renholdër to reimagine cuts from LINKIN PARK, MINISTRY, THE CURE, and more – while a trio of tracks are given some Chicago flavor courtesy of former FILTER/CHEMLAB axeman Geno Lenardo. There’s a little of the recent dubstep craze infiltrating the mix on the EVANESCENCE and LP tracks, while the MINSTRY and STELLA KATSOUDAS tracks rank among my favorites. The rest are a solid and would make excellent iTunes fodder for fans of the bands… if they weren’t “album only” cuts to drive sales of the $11.99 release. The old music industry is still at play.

UNDERWORLD AWAKENING – Soundtrack Tracklisting:

01. Made of Stone (Renholdër Remix) – Evanescence
02. Heavy Prey – Lacey Sturm of Flyleaf feat. Geno Lenardo
03. Blackout (Renholdër Remix) – Linkin Park
04. Apart (Renholdër Remix) – The Cure
05. Killer & a Queen – Stella Katsoudas of Sister Soleil feat. Geno Lenardo
06. Watch Yourself (Renholdër Remix) – Ministry
07. Trip the Darkness (Ben Weinman Remix) – Lacuna Coil
08. Young Blood (Renholdër Remix) – The Naked and Famous
09. It Rapes All In Its Path – Black Light Burns
10. The Posthumous Letter – William Control
11. How’m I Supposed to Die – Civil Twilight
12. Consolation Prize – & SONS
13. Liar (Revenant mix by 8MM) – 8MM
14. You Won’t See The Light – Ryan T.Hope of The Lifeline feat. Geno Lenardo
15. Bottle of Pain – Combichrist
16. Intruder – Collide
17. Exit Wounds (Justin Lassen Remix) – Justin Lassen feat. Silent Fury

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Advertisement Wagyu Steaks - Kobe-Style
Previous articleBLACK TAXI – WE DON’T KNOW ANY BETTER (Album Review)
Next articleMINISTRY – RELAPSE (Advance Album Review)