This article is more than 10 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

On October 22, Warner Bros Records will revisit VAN MORRISON’s classic album, MOONDANCE, with the release of three new physical configurations and an iTunes Deluxe Edition.  The pinnacle of the reissue is the newly remastered and expanded version featuring 50 unreleased tracks including studio outtakes of favorites like “Caravan, “Moondance” and “Into The Mystic,” plus multiple takes and a final mix of the unheard track “I Shall Sing”. To celebrate the release, Warner Bros/Rhino have teamed up with The Rock Father to get one lucky reader hooked-up with VAN MORRISON: MOONDANCE, the 5-Disc Deluxe Edition!

MOONDANCE – 5-Disc Deluxe Edition Specs:


Deluxe Edition – 4 CDs/1 Blu-Ray Audio (Pre-order from my affiliate, Best Buy)
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• Three discs of previously unreleased music from the sessions
• Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)
• Presented in a linen-wrapped folio
• Includes a booklet with liner notes from Alan Light and original engineer Elliot Scheiner.

Sponsor Message:

vanmorrisonThe Deluxe Edition unearths an amazing trove of unreleased gems that take the listener right alongside Morrison and his band in studio. There are multiple, often lengthy, takes from the recording sessions of nearly every track found on the 1970 original, including “Glad Tidings,” “Brand New Day” and “Come Running.” There are also early takes of “I’ve Been Working,” a song that would appear later that year on His Band And The Street Choir. The early version included here is quite different from the official album version. The Deluxe Edition also includes a Blu-Ray audio disc with high-resolution stereo and surround mixes of the original album, mixed by original engineer Elliot Scheiner, who also oversaw the new re-mastering of the album.

One of the most significant revelations is “I Shall Sing,” a Morrison original that was completed but left off the album. There are multiple takes of the song (spread across six tracks), plus a final mix of the finished song. While no one has heard Morrison’s version, Art Garfunkel had a Top 40 hit with the song, which appeared on his 1973 solo debut.

Following its release by Warner Bros. in February 1970, MOONDANCE would later be certified triple platinum by the RIAA, inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame (1999) and named #65 on the list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” published by Rolling Stone (2003).


Disc One – Original Album Remastered
1. “And It Stoned Me”
2. “Moondance”
3. “Crazy Love”
4. “Caravan”
5. “Into The Mystic”
6. “Come Running”
7. “These Dreams Of You”
8. “Brand New Day”
9. “Everyone”
10. “Glad Tidings”

Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased
1. “What do we call this Van?”
2. “Caravan” (Take 1)
3. “Caravan” (Takes 2-3)
4. “Caravan” (Take 4)
5. “Caravan” (Takes 5-6)
6. “Caravan” (Take 7)
7. “Caravan” (Take 8)
8. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 1)
9. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 2)
10. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 5)
11. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake)
12. “I Shall Sing” (Take 1)
13. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 2-3)
14. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 4-6)
15. “I Shall Sing” (Take 7)
16. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 8-12)
17. “I Shall Sing” (Take 13)

Disc Three – All Previously Unreleased
1. “Into The Mystic” (Take 10)
2. “Into The Mystic” (Take 11)
3. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 12-13)
4. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 14-16)
5. “Into The Mystic” (Take 17)
6. “Brand New Day” (Take 1)
7. “Brand New Day” (Take 2)
8. “Brand New Day” (Take 3)
9. “Brand New Day” (Take 4)
10. “Brand New Day” (Takes 5-6)
11. “Brand New Day” (Take 7)
12. “Glad Tidings (Take 1)
13. “Glad Tidings (Takes 2-4)
14. “Glad Tidings (Takes 7-8)
15. “Glad Tidings (Take 9)
16. “Caravan Redo” (Takes 1-2)
17. “Caravan Redo” (Take 3)

Disc Four – All Previously Unreleased
1. “Come Running” (Take 1)
2. “Come Running” (Take 2)
3. “Come Running” (Takes 3-4)
4. “Come Running” (Take 5)
5. “Come Running” (“Rolling On 4”)
6. “Moondance” (Take 21)
7. “Moondance” (Take 22)
8. “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version)
9. “These Dreams Of You” (Alt Version)
10. “Crazy Love” (Remix)
11. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 1)
12. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 2)
13. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 3)
14. “Caravan” (Remix)
15. “These Dreams Of You” (Remix)
16. “I Shall Sing” (Mix)

Disc Five – Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)

Ready to Enter for a chance to win? Follow the prompts in the Rafflecopter Widget Below… it will guide you, and you can play Chicago-style (early and often), and even get a stacked deck through various social actions, but start by leaving a comment on this post with your favorite VAN MORRISON song or album!

{source}” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Fine Print: Promotion open to U.S. residents only, ages 18+, void where prohibited. Winner will be chosen at random on, about, or after November 1, 2013, and will be notified via email to obtain their shipping address. If no response within 24 hours, an alternate winner will be chosen. Shipping address must be a street address – no P.O. Boxes. Prize provided and shipped by Warner Bros. Records. Twitter Users: Sorry, no Eggs, please – real users only. Not responsible for lost or misdirected mail. Good Luck!

**VAN MORRISON Photos courtesy of the Estate of David Gahr

Advertisement Wagyu Steaks - Kobe-Style
Previous articleAUGUST BURNS RED Fall Tour Giveaway: Win a signed RESCUE & RESTORE Poster!
Next article31 Days of Halloween: THE WHIZPOPS! – “The Bat Song”