This article is more than 12 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

61HzWDV2HEL. AA115 EP’s are back in vogue as a tool to keep thirsty listeners’ attention in between full length albums, and WITHIN THE RUINS have successfully managed to take full advantage of that fact. Having just released their latest full-length INVADE last August, the band made a brief return to the studio this spring to bang out a quartet of new tracks. Out this week via Victory Records, OMEN compiles those tracks into a blistering 17-minute set of mosh-worthy aural delights.

The two original tracks, Infamy and Controller are the real winners here, picking up where INVADE left off and delivering the loyal a pair of solid cuts that are sure to please. The two cover tracks are more of a mixed bag, with the oft-covered KANSAS classic Carry On Wayward Sun (Stryper, The Showdown, Yngwie Malmsteen, The Oak Ridge Boys – they’ve all done it) appearing followed by METALLICA’s Fight Fire With Fire. Between the two, Metallica stands out as a less-obvious choice for a reworking.

Rating: 3.5/5

Previous articleTHE PRODIGY – WORLD’S ON FIRE (Live DVD/CD Review)
Next articleOZZY OSBOURNE – BLIZZARD OF OZZ: Expanded Edition (Album Review)