Quantcast
70.8 F
Chicago
Sponsor Message

Happy… HELLBOY Day? Yes, #HellboyDay

Filed Under:

Published:

This article is more than 10 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

Twenty years ago today, Dark Horse Comics released Mike Mignola’s HELLBOY: SEED OF DESTRUCTION #1. The character, which first appeared in an eight-page story as part of a Dark Horse Comic-Con Special, would go on to become a true pop-culture icon celebrated by children and parents alike [Ed – perhaps a little stretch there!] spawning feature films, animation and toys. If you can make it out to a local comic shop today, you’ll find that HELLBOY DAY is being celebrated with special merchandise and events (participating store list) and the release of the hardcover book, HELLBOY: THE FIRST 20 YEARS. Additionally, Sideshow Collectibles is releasing a HELLBOY Premium Format Figure this August, limited to just 1,500 pieces.

Hellboy by Mike Mignola Premium Format Figure

 Text Provided by Sideshow Collectibles:

300252-hellboy-008Wake the Devil!” 

Commemorating 20 years of Hellboy’s capers, Sideshow Collectibles is proud to present the B.P.R.D.’s greatest paranormal investigator with the Mike Mignola Hellboy Premium Format(TM) Figure.

Summoned in close collaboration with the famed creator, this original composition delightfully echoes Mignola’s familiar aesthetic and popular comic artwork with chiseled features, a high-contrast paint technique and recurring esoteric themes incorporated throughout.  

Hellboy stands 23″ tall atop a tombstone base, decked out in hand-tailored fabric black shorts, removable trenchcoat, and belt with a few of his token mementos. Preparing to stave off things that go bump in the night, the wisecracking and good-natured demon is armed with sword and trusty Samaritan, ready to punch through monsters, miscreants and anything in-between with his Right Hand of Doom. Interchangeable portraits offer two distinct looks for the unwilling harbinger of the Apocalypse; display Hellboy with his filed stumps, or as the fiery long-horned Anung Un Rama with crown in this definitive piece for fans of Hellboy and Mike Mignola alike.

See more images and Pre-Order here.

Will you be celebrating HELLBOY DAY? Support your local comic book shop!
Green Day: New KoolTunes Collab Out Now! | Shop Now

Recent Stories:

Sponsor Message

The Toy Book:

Sponsor Message

Rock Father Rides:

Sponsor Message
Entertainment Earth
Sponsor Message
Sponsor Message Fandango Gift Cards