This article is more than 11 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

Connecticut-based Children’s Author, Musician, Teacher, and self-professed “all around cool guy,” Ryan SanAngelo has assembled a brand-new collection of family-friendly fright songs for Fall. AUTUMN THEMES AND HALLOWEEN SCREAMS (out now on Little King Press) contains 20 super-short sonic blasts that clock in at a combined 34 minutes.

With the songs short, simple, and the pace brisk, SanAngelo makes a run toward the kindie market with bouncy progressions and repetition. Lots of repetition…


Autumn ScreamsIn fact, the repetition (most commonly of the song title) is what ultimately hurts the album, with many of the songs feeling unfinished and as hollow as a jack-o-lantern. While I certainly believe that the album was crafted with good intentions, it just feels rushed and makes for a moment like this where I genuinely feel bad about having to share my opinion. AUTUMN SCREAMS AND HALLOWEEN THEMES just didn’t grab me or the munchkin (the most important critic) like I’d hoped it would. Props to SanAngelo’s brother, David for the cover art.

01. Hooray for Fall
02. Get a Pumpkin
03. Shake Your Bones
04. Halloween Fiesta
05. Monster Rock
06. Halloween Costume
07. Piles of Leaves
08. I Am a Tree
09. Halloween, Halloween
10. Creepy Crawly Spiders
11. Fall
12. Autumn is the Season
13. Scotty the Scarecrow
14. Autumn Leaves
15. Who Loves Halloween?
16. Mashed Potatoes
17. Granny Smith
18. Five Little Pumpkins
19. Windy Wind
20. Have a Great Fall 

Check out Ryan SanAngelo on Facebook or at his official site to learn more about his work.

Previous article31 Days of Halloween: PLAY DATE – “Dance Like A Monster”
Next article31 Days of Halloween: PocketBac Halloween Editions from Bath & Body Works