47.9 F
Sponsor Message

THE BREEDERS release full details on LSXX Box Set contents…

Filed Under:


This article is more than 11 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

As previously covered here on The Rock Father, THE BREEDERS will release a special 20th Anniversary Edition of their landmark album, LAST SPLASH. LSXX will hit stores on April 23 as a limited-edition, seven-disc vinyl box set, and a three-CD deluxe set. Artwork for this package was crafted by British artist Vaughan Oliver, who described it as “an irreverent conceptual and visual re-imagining” of his original LAST SPLASH design. So what’s in the box?

The vinyl box set includes:

* a 12-inch vinyl pressing of Last Splash (the original recording, not remixed or remastered)
* four 10-inch EPs – Safari, Cannonball, Divine Hammer, and Head to Toe
* a 12-inch vinyl live concert album, Stockholm Syndrome, recorded in Sweden in 1994, during the band’s last European tour. Seven tracks from this recording originally appeared on a fan-club-only CD; nine additional unreleased tracks from the concert are included here.
* a 12-inch vinyl record comprised of a BBC radio session recorded July 24, 1993 and available here for the first time, and the original Last Splash demo recordings, made in November, 1992
* a 24-page booklet featuring previously unpublished photographs taken during the recording of Last Splash, personal photos taken during two years of touring, and reminiscences written by band members and others, including Kim Gordon and J Mascis. 

Disc 1 – Last Splash – 12-inch vinyl

  1. New Year
  2. Cannonball
  3. Invisible Man
  4. No Aloha
  5. Roi
  6. Do You Love Me Now?
  7. Flipside
  8. I Just Wanna Get Along
  9. Mad Lucas
  10. Divine Hammer
  11. S.O.S.
  12. Hag
  13. Saints
  14. Drivin’ on 9
  15. Roi (Reprise)

Disc 2 – The Stockholm Syndrome (Live in Stockholm) – 12-inch vinyl

  1. Shocker in Gloomtown
  2. New Year
  3. Hellbound
  4. Saints
  5. Hag
  6. I Just Wanna Get Along
  7. S.O.S.
  8. Roi
  9. Head To Toe
  10. Happiness is a Warm Gun
  11. Cannonball
  12. Invisible Man
  13. Doe
  14. Drivin’ on 9
  15. Don’t Call Home
  16. Limehouse

(seven of these tracks previously were released as a limited-edition, fan club-only release via the Breeders’ Digest; the other nine are previously unreleased.)

Disc 3 – Demos, rare tracks and session versions – 12-inch vinyl

  1. No Aloha (BBC Session, previously unreleased)
  2. Flipside (BBC Session, previously unreleased)
  3. Divine Hammer (BBC Session, previously unreleased)
  4. Hag (BBC Session, previously unreleased)
  5. New Year (November 1992 demo, previously released as a bonus 7-inch with original vinyl pressing of Last Splash)
  6. Grunggae (November 1992 demo, previously released as a bonus 7-inch with original vinyl pressing of Last Splash)
  7. Invisible Man (previously released on 4AD label compilation, 13 Year Itch
  8. No Aloha (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  9. I Just Wanna Get Along (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  10. Mad Lucas (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  11. S.O.S. (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  12. Saints (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  13. 900 (November 1992 demo, previously unreleased)
  14. Iris (previously released on the No Alternative compilation album)

Safari EP – 10-inch vinyl

  1. Do You Love Me Now?
  2. Don’t Call Home
  3. Safari
  4. So Sad About Us

Cannonball EP – 10-inch vinyl

  1. Cannonball
  2. Cro-Aloha
  3. Lord of the Thighs
  4. 900

Divine Hammer EP – 10-inch vinyl  

  1. Divine Hammer (single version)
  2. Hoverin’
  3. I Can’t Help It (If I’m Still in Love With You)
  4. Do You Love Me Now?

Head To Toe EP – 10-inch vinyl 

  1. Head To Toe
  2. Shocker In Gloomtown
  3. Freed Pig
  4. Saints

The Deluxe CD Edition Contains the tracks listed above, but as a 3CD set.
For more on THE BREEDERS, including tour dates with the LAST SPLASH lineup (Kim Deal, Kelley Deal, Josephine Wiggs and Jim Macpherson) check out http://thebreederslsxx.com/

For more rock delivered daily, LIKE The Rock Father on Facebook

Green Day: New KoolTunes Collab Out Now! | Shop Now

Recent Stories:

Sponsor Message

The Toy Book:

Sponsor Message

Rock Father Rides:

Sponsor Message
Entertainment Earth
Sponsor Message
Sponsor Message Fandango Gift Cards