This article is more than 9 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

It’s been nearly three years since I reviewed AN ACHE FOR THE DISTANCE, the last full-length album by Chicago’s THE ATLAS MOTH. On June 10, Profound Lore will release their follow-up, when THE OLD BELIEVER hits the streets.

“This record is an equally large progression as between our first two records but this time is coupled with more experience. I feel like we found ourselves on AN ACHE FOR THE DISTANCE, and now we are expanding on our sound more than ever. It’s also the most personal and introspective music we have ever done. We are wearing our hearts on our sleeves with every note.”Stavros Giannopoulos


THE OLD BELIEVER, produced The Atlas Moth’s own Andrew Ragin at Chicago’s Wall To Wall Studios, features guests Joe Duplantier (Gojira), Marcus Eliopulos (Stabbing Westward) and Subrosa violinists Kim Pack and Sarah Pendleton. The album’s cover and back art feature a water-reveal stock, which when dipped in water, more graphics are revealed.


  1. Jet Black Passenger
  2. Collider
  3. The Sea Beyond
  4. Halcyon Blvd
  5. Sacred Vine
  6. The Old Believer
  7. City of Light
  8. Wynona
  9. Hesperian
  10. Blood Will Tell 

Check out for more.

Previous articleGarden: First Spring Blooms with Addie’s Amaryllis
Next articleReview: THE LITTLE RASCALS SAVE THE DAY (Blu-ray)