63.6 F
Sponsor Message

The Random Rock: Updates on over 30 Bands and Artists for February 12, 2012

Filed Under:


This article is more than 12 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

If you enjoyed The Random Rock columns when I was doing them for Kik Axe Music, then you’ll be pleased to know that they’ll be continuing here on The Rock Father™.  The concept is simple: There’s just too much news for just one site to handle, so we compile bite-sized headlines on a few dozen bands and artists into one post. If you want to learn more, we’ll tell you where to go. As the title implies, this really is random rock. Heavy metal, radio rock, punk, indie rock, ska, mainstrem, black metal, grindcore… if it’s part of rock, then it’s probably here, but you might find some other genres dropped in as well. 

  1. A previously-unreleased music video for STONE TEMPLE PILOTSCinnamon has surfaced on YouTube. The clip was shot in early 2010 but scrapped in favor of another director’s vision later that year.
  2. NAPALM DEATH have released a video of frontman Mark “Barney” Greenway discussing the Occupy Movement and the associated riots. Their new album UTILITARIAN arrives on February 28 via Century Media Records.
  3. You can snag a FREE DOWNLOAD of the SCISSOR SISTERS‘ remix of SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLSLafaye via this link.
  4. The revamped power-pop outfit OFF BROADWAY USA featuring JOHN IVAN and JOHN PAZDAN recently hit the studio to re-record some classic tracks with their new lineup. The first one to hit the web is Automatic, and can be streamed on Soundcloud. Stay in time with the band on their official Facebook page.
  5. ILL NINO will enter the studio next month to record their sixth full-length album, and their second for Chicago-based Victory Records. Frontman Cristian Machado commented, “It’s 2012 & we’re all still alive.   It’s time to redefine Latin metal.”
  6. CROOKED FINGERS have released a video for Our New Favorite. The song appears on their MERGE Records release BREAKS IN THE ARMOR, which is out now.
  7. Moscow-based MAN BITES DOG have released their first U.S. single with Whispers in my Mind.
  8. BAND OF SKULLS have released a music video for Sweet Sour. Their new album hits retailers this Tuesday via Vagrant Records.
  9. MYCHILDREN MYBRIDE have released a new lyric video for “On Wings of Integrity Pt. 2,” the first single off the band’s self-titled album, available online and in stores everywhere March 13 via Solid State Records.
  10. RIVAL SONS will enter the studio later this month to record the follow-up to last year’s PRESSURE AND TIME. The album will surface later this year via Earache Records.
  11. ESCAPE THE FATE and ATTACK ATTACK will co-headline the THIS WORLD IS OURS TOUR with support from THE WORD ALIVE, MEST, and SECRETS. Tickets just went on-sale for the trek which begins on April 5.
  12. Listen to ANDREW W.K. and the WSC Band doing a song for the WORLD SNOWBOARDING CHAMPIONSHIPS over at AOL Noisecreep.
  13. Chicago’s THE AUDITION are self-releasing their new EP called CHAPTER II this Tuesday, and Alternative Press has a new track called You Make Me Sick.
  14. LORDS OF ACID will release their new album called DEEP CHILLS on April 10 via Metropolis Records.
  15. TINY VICTORIES are streaming a new song called Gravitron on Soundcloud.
  16. The documentary BAD BRAINS: BAND IN DC will premiere at the SXSW film festival next month. Details here.
  17. RAP – CHILDISH GAMBINO aka Donald Glover has released a video for his track Heartbeat.
  18. NEON TREES will release a new album called PICTURE SHOW on April 17th, and a video teaser can be seen here.
  19. BLACK BREATH are streaming a new song called Mother Abyss on Soundcloud.
  20. ATTIKA 7 featuring Evan Seinfeld (ex-Biohazard), Rusty Coones, Tony Campos (Static-X, Ministry, Prong), and touring/studio drummers including Austin D’Amond (Chimaira, Bleed The Sky), Dustin Shoenhofer (Walls of Jericho/Bury Your Dead), and Devin Lebsack, has signed a deal with THC : MUSIC/Rocket Science Ventures/RED, who will release the band’s debut LP in North America this summer.Would you like to see a video of David Lee Roth interviewing the VAN HALEN brothers? If so, click here.
  21. DESIGN THE SKYLINE have announced a headline tour. Dates on Facebook.
  22. Atlanta’s ROYAL THUNDER have completed recording their debut album, CVI. The album will be released on CD/2xLP/Digital on May 22 via Relapse Records
  23. CLUTCH will finally release their special edition BLAST TYRANT vinyl set on February 28th. Get one here.
  24. IMPENDING DOOM have released some studio footage from the sessions for their upcoming eOne release. Watch it here.
  25. IWRESTLEDABEARONCE are joining the 2012 Vans Warped Tour.
  26. BORKNAGAR are streaming a track called Roots over at Decibel. These guys sound like arrogant fools in the quotes that arrive with every press release. 
  27. MATT TOKA has released an acoustic cover of the T-PAIN song 5 O’Clock
  28. THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN have released a video for Parasitic Twins.
  29. MOTHER FALCON have released a video for Just to See Her Smile.
  30. UNSANE are streaming a new track called No Chance over at Pitchfork, and it’s well-worth a listen.
More updates tomorrow…
Green Day: New KoolTunes Collab Out Now! | Shop Now

Recent Stories:

Sponsor Message

The Toy Book:

Sponsor Message

Rock Father Rides:

Sponsor Message
Entertainment Earth
Sponsor Message
Sponsor Message Fandango Gift Cards