85.7 F
Sponsor Message

The Random Rock N More: Updates on 40 Bands and Artists

Filed Under:


This article is more than 12 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

Keeping busy on Baby Watch 2012, I’ve been behind on the music news. Since the publicists and artists have been looking for coverage, I’m always happy to help when I can, so that means it’s time for another list of rapid-fire updates on over 40 bands and artists from around the music spectrum. This is also when the not-neccessarily family-friendly content gets a spot on The Rock Father homepage, so be warned.

This is The Random Rock N’ More, brought over from the ‘…for Grownups’ section of the site. As part of a well-balanced musical diet, all genres are mixed on this post from Black Metal to Country, Pop to Hip-Hop, indie rock to underground grind. Yes, it leans metal-heavy, but there’s so much more. Let’s do this.

  1. AEROSMITH will release MUSIC FROM ANOTHER DIMENSION on August 28th via Columbia Records. The first single, “Legendary Child” can be heard right here: {source}{/source}
  2. Chicago’s THE AUDITION are offering a FREE DOWNLOAD of their song “Evil.”
  3. HATEBREED have begun work a a new album. Frontman Jamey Jasta says, “This album is so heavy, it’s irresponsible.”
  4. The TEDESCHI TRUCKS BAND have released a new record called EVERYBODY’S TALKIN’. Check out the new one from husband-wife team of Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi on iTunes.
  5. My friends from DIRGE WITHIN have a new shirt for sale representing their single, “Vultures.” Check it out at 3rd Degree Merch.
  6. Speaking of which, the forthcoming SHOCKWAVE FESTIVAL with DW, FEAR FACTORY, VOIVOD, and more has added some dates. Click here for tix.
  7. SYSTEM OF A DOWN frontman SERJ TANKIAN has released a teaser for his “Figure it Out” video.
  8. THE HEAVY will release THE GLORIOUS DEAD on August 21, and you can stream a new track called “What Makes a Good Man” over at Rolling Stone.
  9. MAROON 5 have issued some archival footage from their SONGS ABOUT JANE days. View it here and here.
  10. KREATOR have posted their third studio webisode.
  11. WHITECHAPEL have posted their third studio webisode.
  12. YELLOWCARD have released “Always Summer,” the first single from their new record.
  13. VATTNET VISKAR have signed to Century Media.
  14. j.viewz, a.k.a Brooklyn based and Israeli born songwriter and producer Jonathan Dagan, has an awesome new video for “Rivers and Homes.” Watch it now.
  15. DIABOLICAL are entering the studio. Check out their new webisode.
  16. MORGLBL are streaming a new track called “Brutal Romance.” 
  17. DOLLY PARTON‘s “Coat of Many Colors” has been added to the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry. Check out the master list.
  18. SOUTHERN LORD RECORDS are doing a Scion A/V Metal Showcase in Pomona, CA. If you wanna go… click.
  19. Norwegian Black Metallers KHONSU have signed to Season of Mist Records.
  20. Indie Hip-Hopper ZAK DOWNTOWN has released his “One for the Books” remixes. Stream ’em on Soundcloud.
  21. NELLY FURTADO hit KTLA to perform some acoustic versions of her recent hits.
  22. SUMMERTIME DROPOUTS are offering a free download of their BREATH CAROLINA cover, “Blackout.”
  23. Detroit’s FAWN have a new video out for “No Wave.”
  24. JUDGEMENT DAY have signed to Minus Head Records. Their POLAR SHIFT will be released on July 21.
  25. AMERICAN IDOL Season Ten Finalist STEFANO will debut his new vide “I’m On A Roll” tomorrow.
  26. UK Death Metal Trio BINAH will release HALLUCINATING IN RESURRECTURE this summer.
  27. ENEMY REIGN are streaming a new track called “Forged From Suffering” over at GunShyAssassin.
  28. ATTIKA 7 are streaming a new track called “Devil’s Daughter” over at Loudwire.
  29. PONDEROSA will release POOL PARTY on July 31.
  30. PROSTHETIC RECORDS has a brand-new webstore.
  31. Speaking of which, PROSTHETIC RECORDS has signed 14-String Guitarist FELIX MARTIN. His first album is up for pre-order.
  32. Looking for some latin flavor? Check out ISMAEL MIRANDA, A MAN AND HIS MUSIC on iTunes now.
  33. MADBALL are working on a new EP.
  34. SIX FEET UNDER have a new guitarist… again. Rob Arnold has retired from touring and will be replaced by Ola Englund. Their new album UNDEAD came out this week.
  35. JOSH HOMME of QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE is appearing in a commercial for the new SCISSOR SISTERS album. I’ve always dug the ‘Sisters.
  36. On May 28, BECK will release a new single on Jack White’s THIRD MAN RECORDS. Check out some samples on the label’s homepage.
  37. KILL DEVIL HILL have a “Strange” video out.
  38. MONSTERS SCARE YOU! have signed to Hollywood Waste Records.
  39. I skipped 39.
  40. On September 18th, Sony will release BAD25 – the 25th Anniversary Edition of Michael Jackson‘s BAD. Yep, you’re old!

Is that it? Technically not, as there’s HUNDREDS of emails filled with coverage pitches in my inbox. But, one man can only do so much. 

The Debut of the RUN DMC x Igloo Cooler Collection | Shop Now

Recent Stories:

Sponsor Message

The Toy Book:

Sponsor Message

Rock Father Rides:

Sponsor Message
Entertainment Earth
Sponsor Message
Sponsor Message Fandango Gift Cards