61.6 F
Sponsor Message

The Random Rock N’ More: Updates on Over 40 Bands and Artists for Wednesday 3/28/12

Filed Under:


This article is more than 12 years old and may not have been updated since our last site redesign. It may contain outdated information or could be missing images.

It’s the middle of the week and the music news is flowing. While The Rock Father™ is all about entertainment for the kids, there’s plenty of Music for Grownups, and that brings us to another edition of The Random Rock N’ More. I’ve got rapid fire updates on over 40 bands and artists starting with ”rock” (from mainstream to indie, pop rock to black metal), and finishing with ”N’ More,” brief items from elsewhere in the musical spectrum. A well-rounded musical pallette is good for the ears. Here we go!

The Random Rock: 

  1. SMASHING PUMPKINS will release OCEANIA through EMI Label Services on June 19th, 2012.
  2. STONE SOUR have entered the studio to record their fourth album for Roadrunner Records. The band is eyeing a Fall 2012 release date, and is offering a Free Download of a track called The Pessimist on their official site.
  3. SIX FEET UNDER have announced the 18 NIGHTS OF BLOOD Tour with DYING FETUS and REVOKATION. The trek is happening this June, dates on Facebook.
  4. WOLFBRIGADE are streaming a new track called Feed the Flames over at Blow the Scene.
  5. THE VEER UNION have released a new album called DIVIDE THE BLACKENED SKY (get it on iTunes now), which is streaming this week over at Rock Access.
  6. LINDSEY BUCKINGHAM has a announced a solo tour for May. Get dates here.
  7. IRON MAIDEN have released their EN VIVO! live album/DVD/Blu-Ray, and there’s a new clip of The Wicker Man up for viewing at VEVO.
  8. METALOCALYPSE creator BRENDON SMALL is streaming a track from his new GALAKTIKON project over at Crave Online.
  9. THE DARKNESS have announced a few more US dates for late May, as they continue to prep for the release of their third album (which I’m really excited about). Dates here.
  10. BARENAKED LADIES will release a rarities collection via Rhino on May 8th when STOP US IF YOU’VE HEARD THIS ONE BEFORE! hits stores.
  11. THE CULT have released For the Animals, the first single from their forthcoming album CHOICE OF A WEAPON (out May 22). Grab the new one from Ian Astbury and the boys on iTunes.
  12. CHERRI BOMB recently performed their new single Raw, Real. for Buzznet. See it here.
  13. SILBER RECORDS has been releasing some interesting music-centric mini-comics, and since they’re made in some non-conventional ways, they’ve launched a Kickstarter to assist in getting the comics into your hands.
  14. MARIACHI EL BRONX (alter ego of THE BRONX) has announced a ton of tour dates, and a special-edition split with their other half for Record Store Day 2012.
  15. ANDREW JOHNSTON has released a music video for his song Something You Already Know. Click here to watch it.
  16. Glasgow indie rockers HOLY ESQUE will release their self-titled debut EP on April 23rd. Check out a preview on Soundcloud.
  17. GRACE POTTER AND THE NOCTURNALS will release their fourth studio album, THE LION THE BEAST THE BEAT on June 12th via Hollywood Records.
  18. SAINT VITUS are streaming a new track called Let them Fall on the Season of Mist Facebook page.
  19. INCITE have signed to minus HEAD records.
  20. MY DARKEST DAYS have released their new album, SICK AND TWISTED AFFAIR. Preview tracks are up on their official site, while the album is on iTunes in standard and deluxe editions.
  21. SPAWN OF POSSESSION have hit the Billboard Heatseekers and Hard Music charts with their Relapse Records relese INCURSO.
  22. THE STORY SO FAR have announced a new round of tour dates in support of their 2011 Pure Noise release UNDER SOIL AND DIRT. Get all the details on Facebook.
  23. I Am Mighty Records will release a new EP called GROWING PAINS from the band LOWER LANDS on April 14th. Details here.
  24. Rise Records have signed Texas band CROWN THE EMPIRE. You can watch their announcement video and grab a link for a free download of their cover of the MAROON 5 song Moves Like Jagger via this link.
  25. DAYTRADER are streaming their new single Firebreather on YouTube. The song comes from their new album TWELVE YEARS, which will hit stores on May 8 via Rise Records.
  26. ANIMALS AS LEADERS are gearing up for a European Tour and dates with MESHUGGAH. Check out the full batch of tour dates on Prosthetic Records’ site.
  27. Pitch Black Records has signed three Greek Metal acts, all of which will have May album releases. LITROSIS, MARAUDER, and SACRED BLOOD are the new bands. Hit Pitch Black’s official site for more.
  28. SLEEPER AGENT performed Get Burned on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon the other night, and the video can be seen here
  29. THE AMERICAN SCENE has released an acoustic performance video of Why I’m Not Where You Are featuring Dan of DAYBREAKER.
  30. THE SAFETY FIRE are premiering a new video called Floods of Colour at Guitar World.

N’ More:

  1. CELLDWELLER (aka Klayton) has released a live album called LIVE UPON A BLACKSTAR, and is having a t-shirt contest with HOT TOPIC. Details at Fixt News.
  2. STAIND frontman AARON LEWIS will follow up last year’s excellent country EP with a full-length solo album entitled THE ROAD on June 26.
  3. The GRATEFUL DEAD will debut a never-before-seen 1989 concert in select theaters through Fathom Events on April 19.
  4. LADY GAGA turns 26 today, and her “little monsters” on twitter are making sure that everyone knows about it. #trending
  5. UK pop star CALVIN HARRIS is celebrating the impressive sales of his single Feels So Close, which has moved over 469,000 digital units since being released last fall. Get it on iTunes.
  6. MADONNA made a surprise appearance at the ULTRA MUSIC FESTIVAL to introduce the main stage final headlining artist AVICII and premiere his remix of her latest single, Girl Gone Wild. Check out some video via this link.
  7. GameMill Entertainment has released COUNTRY DANCE ALL STARS for the KINECT on XBOX 360. Check out the launch trailer!
  8. SCOTTY McCREERY has released a cover version of the TIM McGRAW hit Please Remember Me, which is now the official “goodbye song” for AMERICAN IDOL. You can stream a preview of it here on The Rock Father™, or just grab it from iTunes. {source}{/source}
  9. The Dø have released the BOTH WAYS OPEN JAWS remixes EP, which is out now on iTunes. If you’re not familiar with the genre-bending duo, check out a video for starters.
  10. GLEE fans rejoice? Lindsay Lohan will be guest starring on an upcoming episode of the musical show.

Did you really make it to the end? Well, there’s more where this came from, so stay tuned… and go support your favorite artists by buying music, merch, or attending a live show!

Green Day: New KoolTunes Collab Out Now! | Shop Now

Recent Stories:

Sponsor Message

The Toy Book:

Sponsor Message

Rock Father Rides:

Sponsor Message
Entertainment Earth
Sponsor Message
Sponsor Message Fandango Gift Cards